I Want To … Book Series – Review

These books by Harriet Griffey are great! I have the first two books in the series called “I want to sleep” and “I want to be calm”.  I want to sleep is my favourite of the two. As someone who has struggled to fall asleep for years I really enjoyed this book. It is full of helpful tips; things to do before you fall asleep at night, as well as things to do during the day that make falling asleep easier. One thing that I found most helpful was a list of foods/drinks that you can have before bed that increase your melatonin output and help you fall asleep.

These books are very short, and I am a fast reader so I finished them in one night. But I found that I was okay with the shorter length of the books because I learned so much from what was written. The other part I love about these books is the beautiful artwork all throughout the books. So many of these pictures I ended up thinking “Wow I really want to instagram that.” The blue-ish themes of the books also promotes sleep and relaxation.

The second book in the series is called “I Want to Be Calm.” I knew I would find this helpful after reading the first book, and I wasn’t wrong. As a very anxious person I find that I have a lot of stress in my life and I am constantly worrying about things. This book provides a lot of perspective as well as helpful tips on how to de-stress.  img_1105

Below is one of the pages I found most helpful in this book. It describes the concept of “biofeedback” which basically describes how your mind is responsible for your body. By thinking about slowing down your heart rate for example, you can do that and it helps you to acheive a calm state.
 If you are someone who deals with stress or has trouble sleeping I think investing in these books is definitely worth it. They were a pleasure to read.

Thanks for Reading!

Leave a Reply

